Main Content


Ridgefield Park Swears In 2024 Fire Officers

avatar image
December 18, 2023 | NEW JERSEY RON JEFFERS, New Jersey Editor
This article is a direct street report from our correspondent and has not been edited by the 1st Responder newsroom.

RIDGEFIELD PARK, NJ - During the Board of Commissioners meeting on the evening of December 12th, volunteer fire officers for the village were sworn in. There was standing room only in the village chambers, filled with fellow firefighters, family and friends. 

Fire Chief John Antola, Jr., completed his fifth year as Chief of Department, setting a department record for fire chief. The chief provided the commissioners with his annual report, which included volunteer firefighters accumulating 800 hours of training in 2023. 

Chief Antola thanked the commissioners, police, EMS, rescue squad and DPW personnel for their assistance during the year. In addition, he thanked the families of volunteer members for allowing the public servants to do what they do. 

Chief Antola turned over the responsibilities of chief to Assistant Chief William Lynn, who took the oath of Chief of Department. The 2024 Assistant Chiefs are John Malool and Jacob Zardoya. During Malool's 50-years with the fire department, he has been a chief officer for 17-years, serving as Chief of Department in two different terms.    

Once again, Mayor John Anlian stressed his thanks to the volunteers that protect the village and answer hundreds of calls a year. He also thanked their families for allowing them to volunteer their services and talents. The mayor is also a big supporter of additional training.

“Be all that you can be,” the mayor said. “We can always do better.”

The department's new fire captains are: Christopher Santana (Engine 1), Anthony Galasso (Engine 2), Brian Dolch (Engine 3), Mark Alberque (Ladder 1), and Christopher Locarno (Truck 2). 

First fire lieutenants are: Peter Arciuolo (Engine 1), Matt McGurty (Engine 2), Donald Jump (Engine 3), John Van BusKirk (Ladder 1) and Luis Cruz (Truck 2). 

Second lieutenants are: Tim Rudersdorf (Engine 2), Danny Klima (Engine 3) and Raymond Dembski (Truck 2). 

Administration officers are Michele Lynn, President; Nicholas Arciuolo, Vice President; Michael Alberque, Treasurer; and James Schmitt, Secretary.   

avatar image
RON JEFFERSNew Jersey Editor

No information from the author.