Main Content


Winslow Township Fire Dept. Holds Promotion & Swearing In Ceremony

avatar image
January 05, 2024 | NEW JERSEY MARC RIGBERG, Correspondent
This article is a direct street report from our correspondent and has not been edited by the 1st Responder newsroom.

On Friday, January 5th, the Winslow Township Fire Department held a promotion and swearing in ceremony at the Winslow Township High School. This was the culmination of hard work and preparing to deploy our second 24 hour staffed company. This event was Emceed by Chief (Ret.) William “Bill” Dukes. Posting of the Colors was presented by the Winslow Township Police Department Honor Guard pipped in by the Camden County Emerald Society. The National Anthem was sung by Winslow Township High School Student Gianna Cavallero. The opening prayer and benediction along with the Firefighters Prayer was presented by Perry Bascou, Chaplain of the Camden County Fire Chiefs and Fire Officers Association. Remarks were made by Winslow Township Mayor Marie Lawrence, Winslow Township Fire District #1 Chairman Anthony Sirolli, Winslow Township Fire Department Chief Marc Rigberg and Winslow Township Fire Department Battalion Chief Victor Farinelli. Special Guest Speaker was Chief James Smith of the Ocean City Fire Department.

On stage was:
Camden County Commissioner Jeffrey Nash
Winslow Township Mayor Marie Lawrence
Chief (Ret.) William “Bill” Dukes
Ocean City Fire Chief James Smith
Chief (Ret.) William “Bill” Glassman of the Camden County Regional Emergency Training Center
Chaplain Perry Bascou
Fire District Chairman Anthony Sirolli
Fire District Vice-Chairman Richard Iannaco
Fire District Commissioner Robert Maschke
Fire District Commissioner Anthony Church
Fire District Commissioner John Smith
Fire Chief Marc Rigberg
Battalion Chief Victor Farinelli

Those promoted:
To Deputy Chief Steven Silcott
To Battalion Chief Robert Boettcher and Victor Farinelli
To Captain Jason Leach, Jason Powell, David Schlessinger and Elwood Humphries
To Fire Official/UFD Joseph Hahn

Sworn in as Probationary Firefighters following a sixteen (16) week multi-discipline recruit academy:
Dominic Midure
Michael O’Rourke
Glenn Charney, Jr.
Tyler Nielubowicz
Michael Avato
Burnell Boggs
Anthony Washart
Justin Moriarty

Following the swearing in, three (3) awards were presented.
Presented by Chief (Ret.) Glassman was the:
John D. West, Sr. Award (Physical Training Skills Criteria) to Probationary Firefighter Anthony Washart.

James E. Sylvester Award (Overall Knowledge, Skills and Ability) to Probationary Firefighter Justin Moriarty.

Presented by Battalion Chief Victor Farinelli was the Lieutenant Les Gant, Jr. award to Probationary Firefighter Dominic Midure for class leadership.

We are thankful and humbled for the large attendance of dignitaries, First Responder representatives, family, friends and other esteemed guests. Thank you all who in any fashion assisted with the recruit program and ceremony. To all those promoted or sworn in, congratulations and stay safe!

avatar image
MARC RIGBERGCorrespondent

No information from the author.